The Irish have been part of Langley’s history ever since Europeans set foot in this area. Some of the earliest settler families trace their roots to the Emerald Isle, including Robert James Wark who sailed from Londonderry in 1890 as a 16 year old. He later became Langley’s reeve (or mayor) between 1914 and 1918. He was one of the first to own an automobile, and the first to have a paved driveway! Wark/Dumais House was later restored by the Langley Heritage Society. For more about the home’s history, go HERE.
Robert was nephew to Henry Wark, who was part of the expedition that established a site for the original Fort Langley; he later became postmaster at Fort Langley. Historic Murrayville is named after Irish-born Paul Murray who cleared land with his family and farmed at the foot of a hill in 1874 that became known as Murray’s Corners. Son Billy Murray built a hotel (Traveller’s) at this key intersection on the Old Yale Road. The name was changed to Murrayville in 1911 by the local post office. Harrower House, restored by the LHS once stood on property owned by the Murray family. More on Harrower House HERE.
Edgewater Bar (and park) is named after William Edge, who emigrated from Dublin. He bought property beside the Fraser River where he farmed with his family. His children were rowed across the river each day to Maple Ridge to attend school. William’s brother Samuel climbed the Golden Ears and Edge Peak is named after him. David Lattimer served in the Great War, and was wounded in the throat and neck. He returned home to live at Milner where the transplanted Irishman ran the local livery stable, and later operated a garage. His home has also been restored by the Langley Heritage Society. More about the Lattimer story HERE.
Everyone can claim to be a little Irish on St Pat’s Day. Sláinte!