Langley Heritage Society’s Jim Foulkes helped locate the original mile markers in Langley. 

It was a treasure hunt that paid off. The Township of Langley and its volunteer Heritage Advisory Committee located the original concrete mile markers that once stood beside the Fraser Highway. Mile O began at the historic Main Post Office (1905) at Main & Hastings in Vancouver, and moved eastward through the Fraser Valley. Seven of nine original  mile markers erected in the early 1930s in Langley Township were located with the help of historic surveyor (and Langley Heritage Society board member) Jim Foulkes. The originals were restored and two replicas were created to replace the two missing markers. Nine mile markers now stand on the south side of the Fraser Highway between Murrayville and Aldergrove, a visible link to the region’s modern transportation history, which began with the gold rush trails in 1858, and later the horses and wagons on the Yale Road, which eventually became the Fraser Highway.